Alabama Shakes’s New LP Due Out In April


American blues rock band Alabama Shakes are planning to release their new upcoming album in mid-April.

The forthcoming record is titled Sound and Color (wonder if they’ll change the title to ‘Colour’ over this side of the pond) and is expected to be released on April 17th In Ireland.

Alabama Shakes features Brittany Howard (singer-guitarist), Zac Cockrell (bassist), Heath Fogg (guitarist) and Ben Tanner (drums).

The four-piece put out their debut album Boys & Girls in 2012, which included the smash hit ‘Hold On’.

Sound and Color is a twelve track LP, recorded at the Sound Emporium studio in Nashville, Tennessee. It was co-produced by Blake Mills, who previously worked with singers Sara Watkins and Sky Ferriera, and Alabama Shakes.

Speaking to NME about the album, Howard says: “We took our time to write this record, and I’m really glad we did. We were able to sit down and think about what’s exciting to us. This record is full of genre-bending songs.”

Listen to the songs ‘Sound and Color’ and ‘Future People’ below.



Sound and Color track listing:

Sound and Color
Don’t Wanna Fight
Future People
Gimme All Your Love
This Feeling
Guess Who
The Greatest
Miss You
Over My Head