Byrne Handed Start By Schmidt For Twickers Run Around


Ireland show a raft of changes from the side that faced Italy two weeks ago as the build up to Rugby World Cup 2019 continues in earnest ahead of the trip to Japan.

Ireland head-coach Joe Schmidt says they’ve faith in Ross Byrne ahead of Saturday’s World Cup warm up match against England.

The Leinster out-half will start for his country for the the first time – at Twickenham – as he looks to press a claim to make the squad for the tournament in Japan.

Johnny Sexton is again rested entirely with Connacht’s Jack Carty among the replacements.

Rory Best will skipper the side against England at Twickenham on Saturday and is joined in the front row by Cian Healy and Tadgh Furlong.

Iain Henderson and Jean Kleyn lock down the second row with Peter O’Mahony, Josh van der Flier and CJ Stander named in the backrow.

Rob Kearney lines out at fullback with Jordan Larmour and Jacob Stockdale on the wings.

Bundee Aki and Garry Ringrose are the midfield partnership with Byrne and Conor Murray named at half-back.

The replacements named for Saturday’s game are Sean Cronin, Jack McGrath, Andrew Porter, Devin Toner, Tadgh Beirne, Luke McGrath, Jack Carty and Andrew Conway.

IRELAND -v- England


15.Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster) 90 caps
14.Jordan Larmour (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 14 caps
13.Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster) 21 caps
12.Bundee Aki (Galwegians/Connacht) 17 caps
11.Jacob Stockdale (Lurgan/Ulster) 19 caps
10.Ross Byrne (UCD/Leinster) 2 caps
9.Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 72 caps

1.Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 89 caps
2.Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) 117 caps
3.Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster) 33 caps
4.Iain Henderson (Queens University/Ulster) 45 caps
5.Jean Kleyn (Munster) 1 cap
6.Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 57 caps
7.Josh van der Flier (UCD/Leinster) 17 caps
8.CJ Stander (Shannon/Munster) 31 caps


16.Sean Cronin (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 68 caps
17.Jack McGrath (St Marys College/Leinster) 55 caps
18.Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster) 15 caps
19.Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) 65 caps
20.Tadhg Beirne (Lansdowne/Munster) 6 caps
21.Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster) 11 caps
22.Jack Carty (Buccaneers/Connacht) 4 caps
23. Andrew Conway (Garryowen/Munster) 13 caps

Ross Byrne – Courtesy Leinster Rugby