Foo Fighters Release Video For “You Should Be Dancing” Cover


Foo Fighters have released a performance music video for their cover of the Bee Gees classic “You Should Be Dancing”.

This cover will feature on the band’s upcoming album “Hail Satin” under their alter-ego The Dee Gees. The album will contain five Bee Covers in total. Along with “You Should Be Dancing”, other Bee Gee classics being covered include “More Than A Woman”, “Tragedy” and “Night Fever” and Andy Gibb’s “Shadow Dancing”.

“Hail Satin” will also include tracks from the band’s “Medicine At Midnight” album released earlier this year.  It will be released for Record Store Day on July 17.

“You Should Be Dancing” was written by brothers Maurice and Barry Gibb (The Bee Gees) and it was also used in John Travolta’s iconic dance scene in the classic “Saturday Night Fever”. 

“You Shoud Be Dancing”

Back in February, Foos frontman Dave Grohl had explained how this Bees Cover came about.

“We’ve been going down to our studio every day and filming things and recording things, and this one day we had our list of things we were supposed to do and it said, ​’Record a cover song for Jo”, Grohl told Jo Whiley.

He also added, “And while we were having this conversation somebody said, ​‘Hey, have you seen that Bee Gees documentary?’ And I was like the last person on earth, the only person that hadn’t seen it! So I was like, ​‘Why don’t we just do a Bee Gees song?’ And someone was just like, ​‘OK… how do you wanna do it?!’ And I said: ​‘Well, let’s do it like the Bee Gees”. 

On recording the song itself, Grohl said it was the “easiest song I have ever sung in my entire life”.

“We started recording the instrumental track, and then I thought, ‘Okay, well, I’m gonna go out and sing it. . .’ and let me tell you, I have never, ever in my life sung like that, but it was the easiest song I have ever sung in my entire life!”, he said.

“I sang the song, and it was like six minutes and I was done. I should have been singing like this for the last 25 years!'”.

You can check out the video for the band’s cover and the album’s tracklist below.

Side A – The DEE GEES:

  1. You Should Be Dancing
  2. Night Fever
  3. Tragedy
  4. Shadow Dancing
  5. More Than a Woman

Side B – Live At 606:

1. Making A Fire
2. Shame Shame
3. Waiting On A War
4. No Son Of Mine
5. Cloudspotter