Four Changes In Ireland Team For Ultimate Test

Irl - NZ - Getty Images

Joe Schmidt has made four changes to the Ireland side for Saturday’s Test with the All Blacks at the Aviva.

Rob Kearney replaces Jordan Larmour at full-back, while Garry Ringrose – as expected – comes in for the injured Robbie Henshaw to partner Bundee Aki in the centre.

Iain Henderson makes way for Devin Toner in the second row, while the injured Sean O’Brien is replaced by Leinster team-mate Dan Leavy at openside.

While Kieran Marmion has overcome an ankle issue to take his place at scrum-half. The game will see Aki come up against the country of his birth.

Rob Kearney returns to the starting XV at full-back with Keith Earls and Jacob Stockdale named on the wings. Garry Ringrose renews his partnership with Bundee Aki from the game against Italy in Chicago. Jonny Sexton’s partnered by Kieran Marmion.

Up front, captain Rory Best packs down with Cian Healy and Tadhg Furlong. Devin Toner starts in the second row with James Ryan. Dan Leavy is named at openside with Peter O’Mahony on the opposite flank and CJ Stander at 8.

New Zealand’s matchday 23 features just the one change from the team which beat England last weekend: Ryan Crotty comes in for the injured Sonny Bill Williams, with Anton Lienert-Brown coming into the run on reserves in the 23 jersey.

Ireland Team To Face New Zealand

15 Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster) 86

14 Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster) 71

13 Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster) 15

12 Bundee Aki (Galwegians/Connacht) 11

11 Jacob Stockdale (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 13

10 Jonathan Sexton (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 77 (vc)

9 Kieran Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht) 23

1 Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 82

2 Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) 112 (c)

3 Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster) 27

4 Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) 62

5 James Ryan (UCD/Leinster) 12

6 Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 51 (vc)

7 Dan Leavy (UCD/Leinster) 11

8 CJ Stander (Shannon/Munster) 27


16 Sean Cronin (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 64

17 Jack McGrath (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 52

18 Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster) 10

19 Iain Henderson (Queens University/Ulster) 40

20 Josh van der Flier (UCD/Leinster) 11

21 Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster) 8

22 Joey Carbery (Clontarf/Munster) 14

23 Jordan Larmour (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 8