HEAR: Ben From Biffy Clyro Chat with Marty Miller


Biffy Clyro have made a sensational return with their brand new single ‘Instant History’, which is the first track from their forthcoming eighth studio album, ‘A Celebration of Endings’.

Ben Johnston of Biffy Clyro chats with Marty Miller about living in a small village in Scotland, where some locals ask him is he “still in that wee band”. Ben also shares the hope of the new single, Instant History, is to actually scare Biffy fans and piss some off! And of course living with Covid 19. Having this chat, it’s strange. What does Ben miss most? His brother and band mates? His son? Playing live?  Football? And what does he think “normal” will be after all of this?

The new album finds Biffy Clyro – completed by the Johnston brothers James (bass) and Ben (drums) – pushing everything they do best to the next level. They’ve excelled at delivering some of the most captivating choruses of their career alongside explosions of sheer visceral intensity and some stirring, evocative orchestration. That eclectic quality keeps things thrilling unpredictable, especially as those traits often all emerge in the course of a single track.

“This is a very forward-looking album from a personal perspective and a societal perspective,” explains frontman Simon Neil. Sonically, Biffy Clyro playfully push the outer reaches of their sound to the extreme – often in the case of the same song.

Fingers crossed Ben and Biffy still play the 3Arena on 7 October as part of their first full-scale UK & Ireland arena tour since 2016.

The dates are:


  • 25th – Aberdeen, P&J Arena
  • 26th – Glasgow, The SSE Hydro
  • 27th – Nottingham, Motorpoint Arena
  • 29th – Newcastle, Utilita Arena
  • 30th – Birmingham, Arena


  • 1st – London, The O2
  • 3rd – Manchester, Arena
  • 4th – Leeds, First Direct Arena
  • 6th – Belfast, SSE Arena
  • 7th – Dublin, 3Arena
  • 9th – Cardiff, Motorpoint Arena
  • 11th – Bournemouth, BIC