Henderson Recall Is The Only Change For Ireland’s Slam Bid

IMAGE @IrishRugby I.R.F.U. Twitter

Iain Henderson is the only change for Ireland’s tilt at history for Saturday’s Natwest Six Nations Grand Slam match against England.

The Ulster lock replaces Devin Toner in the only change to the squad used in the victory over Scotland, which landed a third title in five years for Joe Schmidt’s side.

Peter O’Mahony, Rob Kearney and Cian Healy have shaken off injuries to retain their places in the side.

Ireland are seeking to emulate the teams of 1948 and 2009 by achieving just their third Grand Slam success.

Rory Best earns cap number 111 and is partnered in the front row by Cian Healy and Tadhg Furlong.

The recalled Henderson and James Ryan team up in the second row with Peter O’Mahony, Dan Leavy and CJ Stander lining out in the backrow.

Conor Murray and Johnny Sexton are the half-backs with Bundee Aki and Garry Ringrose linking up again in midfield.

Keith Earls and Jacob Stockdale fill the wing positions with Rob Kearney at fullback.

Ireland starting XV v. England –

15. Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster) 82 caps
14. Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster) 66 caps
13. Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster)
12 caps 12. Bundee Aki (Galwegians/Connacht) 6 caps
11. Jacob Stockdale (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 8 caps
10. Johnny Sexton (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 72 caps
9. Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 63 caps
1. Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 77 caps
2. Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) 110 caps Captain
3. Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster) 22 caps
4. James Ryan (UCD/Leinster) 7 caps
5. Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 37 caps
6. Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 46 caps
7. Dan Leavy (UCD/Leinster) 8 caps
8. CJ Stander (Shannon/Munster) 22 caps


16. Sean Cronin (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 60 caps
17. Jack McGrath (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 46 caps
18. Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster) 6 caps
19. Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) 57 caps
20. Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Leinster)
19 caps 21. Kieran Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht)
20 caps 22. Joey Carbery (Clontarf/Leinster)
9 caps 23. Jordan Larmour (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 2 caps