Iggy Pop & Josh Homme Form Supergorup


Iggy Pop & Josh Homme have recently announced that they have formed a supergroup of sorts.They are also joined by Arctic Monkeys drummer Matt Helders and QOTSA/ Dead Weather guitarist Dean Fertita.

They recently announced that they had been recording an album together in secrecy. They said they wrote and recorded a full-length album called Post Pop Depression together, which will be released in March through Loma Vista Recordings.

In a recent interview with The New York Times, Josh Homme and Iggy Pop said they financed the project themselves to ensure “utmost secrecy and full independence.” They recorded nine songs over the course of two sessions, with one ground rule being that : “neither would bring in complete songs, only ideas.”

They likened the album to Iggy Pop’s collaboration with David Bowie Lust For Life, and said it is sort of a sequel to it. Homme told The Times. “But without copying it — that direction actually goes for miles. And when you keep going for miles, you can’t see these two records any more.”

The album is officially known as an Iggy Pop album with collaborations from Josh Homme, Matt Helders and Dean Fertita. They recently released a new track off the album titled ‘Gardenia’ which you can check out down below.


Photo Credit: Dena Flows