LISTEN: Paul Weller’s New Song: “Village”


Paul Weller has released his gorgeous new song “Village” today.

“Village” is the second new track to be debuted from his hotly anticipated new album On Sunset, which will be released on June 19th (Polydor Records).

Paul will also hopefully still be heading off on tour in the Autumn including dates at the Olympia in Dublin on October 26 & 27.

Paul Weller, LISTEN: Paul Weller’s New Song: “Village”

“Village” is a response to being told that we’ve all got to explore the Amazon and climb Everest to make our lives complete,” says Weller. And there’s a guy who says, fuck all that, I’ve got heaven around me.”.

“Village” was written by Weller and his long-time producer Jan ‘Stan’ Kybert. The track features Paul’s old Style Council mucker Mick Talbot on keyboards.

Listen to Village here

Paul began working on the forthcoming new album On Sunset very soon after finishing 2018’s “True Meanings”. “On Sunset” features ten classic yet modern Paul Weller songs including masterly pop classics, heart-tugging ballads and occasional touches of experimentalism. The 10 tracks on the album are:


Written and recorded at Black Barn Studios in Surrey, On Sunset was produced by Jan “Stan” Kybert and Paul himself with help from Charles Rees. String arrangements by Hannah Peel.

As well as digitally, the album is released on CD , Deluxe CD (includes extra tracks), double gatefold vinyl, coloured vinyl and cassette.

Paul Weller, LISTEN: Paul Weller’s New Song: “Village”

Most of the album sees Weller multi-tasking on various instruments with accompaniment from his regular band – Ben Gordelier appears on all tracks and Andy Crofts on most whilst Steve Cradock pops up with his guitar on 4 songs. An eclectic and sometimes surprising gathering of guests appear on On Sunset including Slade’s Jim Lea contributing violin to the Bonzos-esque “Equanimity”, and Paul’s old Style Council chum Mick Talbot adds his signature Hammond Organ sound to 3 tracks. The beautifully lush “More” features a verse sung by French singer Julie Gros, from the band Le Superhomard (whose album Meadow Lane Park was one of Weller’s favourites of 2019) as well as the return of The Strype’s guitarist Josh McClorey. English folk trio The Staves contribute backing vocals for 3 tracks. Once again Hannah Peel sprinkles her magic over the album with string arrangements and The Paraorchestra were invited to add their expertise to 4 tracks.