Listen: Sting Reveals Details Of His New Album ‘My Songs’


Sting has shared the cover (above) and track listing for his new record My Songs. The LP features “re-imagined” versions of some of his favourite solo and Police tracks.

Ultimate Class Rock reports that the record is set to drop on May 24th and will come in both standard and deluxe editions. Sting recently outlined in an interview with Billboard the idea came to him after recording a new version his tune “Brand New Day,” (streaming below).

It's A Sting Double With The Last Ship And The Soul Cages

The bassist said he’s always experimenting with his music: “I’m constantly tinkering and I’m always wanting to make the songs as contemporary as they can possibly can be, because I think they are good songs.”

“Sometimes songs are identified by the technology they were recorded with – recording techniques, the sound of synthesizers or the drum sound. They all date a song, so we just want to re-contemporize the stuff.”

Sting also said that he took inspiration from old and new recordings, with arrangements influenced by how the music had evolved during live performances over the years.

“My voice has more interesting overtones than it did when I was 25,” he noted. “It’s a less pure sound, but I think it has this richness to it. The songs change every night when I sing them, and I’m always hearing something I haven’t actually discovered there. It’s discovery within that repetition too.”

Sting’s has re-worked his music in the past. In 1986, the Police produced two remade  songs from their 1980 album Zenyatta Mondatta, “Don’t Stand So Close to Me” and “De Do Do Do, De Da Da Da.”

Sting, ‘My Songs’ Track Listing
“Brand New Day”
“Desert Rose”
“If You Love Somebody Set Them Free”
“Every Breath You Take”
“Demolition Man”
“Can’t Stand Losing You”
“Fields of Gold”
“So Lonely”
“Shape of My Heart”
“Message in a Bottle”
“Walking on the Moon”
“Englishman in New York”
“If I Ever Lose My Faith in You”
“Roxanne” (Live)

Deluxe Edition Bonus Tracks
“Synchronicity II” (Live)
“Next To You” (Live)
“Spirits In The Material World” (Live)
“Fragile” (Live)
“I Can’t Stop Thinking About You” (Live) (Japan Exclusive)
“Desert Rose” (Extended Version) (France Exclusive)

Don’t forget you can keep up-to-date on all things Nova over on our Instagram page – follow us for all the craziness of radio life coupled with news, sports and LOTS of cool competitions! Click here