Listen To A Track From Bob Dylan’s Rolling Thunder Revue: Live Box Set


Bob Dylan – The Rolling Thunder Revue: The 1975 Live Recordings box set contains over 100 previously unreleased live recordings.

The songs are lifted from the first stint of Dylan’s legendary 1975 tour. The 14-disc set will be released June 7th via Columbia Records/Legacy Recordings.

The epic release comes with 14 discs and 148 tracks. It includes five complete professionally recorded concerts from the tour, as well as two discs of rehearsals from New York’s S.I.R. Studios and a third rehearsal disc from the Seacrest Motel in Falmouth, MA.

In late 1975 Bob Dylan began a tour and it was his second live trek in two years after an eight-year break from gigging on the road. Called Rolling Thunder Revue, it didn’t follow the usual route through large venues in all the big cities. Instead, Dylan would perform smaller intimate auditoriums in front of crowds who might not normally get to see him.

Speaking to Rolling Stone at the time Dylan explained the spirit of the tour, “the atmosphere in small halls is more conducive to what we do.”

His band at the time comprised of T Bone Burnett, Mick Ronson, Joan Baez, Ramblin’ Jack Elliott, David Mansfield, Bobby Neuwirth, Scarlett Rivera, Ronee Blakely, Steven Soles, Rob Stoner, Howie Wyeth, and Luther Rix; the tour also included Allen Ginsberg and Joni Mitchell.

Netflix has also revealed it’s releasing a Martin Scorsese documentary about the tour called Rolling Thunder Revue: A Bob Dylan Story By Martin Scorsese. The movie comes out on the 12th of June.

That Seacrest Motel disc offers the first advance taste of the unreleased music from this release. Listen to ‘One More Cup of Coffee (Valley Below)’ below.

Don’t forget you can keep up-to-date on all things Nova over on our Instagram page – follow us for all the craziness of radio life coupled with news, sports and LOTS of cool competitions! Click here