Manic Street Preachers – This Is My Truth Tell Me Yours


Manic Street Preachers - This Is My Truth Tell Me YoursThis Is My Truth Tell Me Yours is the fifth studio album by Welsh alternative rock band Manic Street Preachers. It was released on 14 September 1998, through Epic Records.

Similarly to its 1996 predecessor Everything Must Go, This Is My Truth Tell Me Yours was a commercial and critical success, becoming the band’s first album to reach #1 in the UK Albums Chart, selling well in the United Kingdom, Europe, and Asia,[2] and earning the band further nominations and accolades at the BRIT Awards in 1999.

The title is a quotation taken from a speech given by Welsh British Labour Party politician Aneurin Bevan. Its working title was simply Manic Street Preachers. The cover photograph was taken on Black Rock Sands near Porthmadog, Wales.

It was the first Manics album to feature lyrics solely by Nicky Wire, while all the music was written by the habitual duo of James Dean Bradfield and cousin Sean Moore. This Is My Truth Tell Me Yours is a more straightforward and pop-oriented album than their previous efforts, and shows the band experimenting with sound and production possibilities.

Track listing

All lyrics written by Nicky Wire, all music composed by James Dean Bradfield and Sean Moore.

No. Title Length
1. “The Everlasting” 6:09
2. “If You Tolerate This Your Children Will Be Next” 4:50
3. “You Stole the Sun from My Heart” 4:20
4. “Ready for Drowning” 4:32
5. “Tsunami” 3:51
6. “My Little Empire” 4:09
7. “I’m Not Working” 5:51
8. “You’re Tender and You’re Tired” 4:37
9. “Born a Girl” 4:12
10. “Be Natural” 5:12
11. “Black Dog on My Shoulder” 4:48
12. “Nobody Loved You” 4:44
13. “S.Y.M.M.” 5:57