Morrissey Announces New Covers Album ‘California Son’


Morrissey has announced a new covers album, titled ‘California Son’.

He’ll take on tracks by the likes of Bob Dylan, Joni Mitchell and Roy Orbison

The former Smiths frontman made the announcement on his official website yesterday, revealing that he’s recorded versions of songs by the likes of Bob Dylan, Joni Mitchell and Roy Orbison for the new album.


‘California Son’ has been produced by Joe Chiccarelli and will comprise of 12 tracks. BMG are releasing the album – and you can see the tracklist below.

01. Morning Starship (Jobriath)
02. Don’t Interrupt The Sorrow (Joni Mitchell)
03. Only A Pawn In Their Game (Bob Dylan)
04. Suffer The Little Children (Buffy Sainte Marie)
05. Days Of Decision (Phil Ochs)
06. It’s Over (Roy Orbison)
07. Wedding Bell Blues (Laura Nyro)
08. Loneliness Remembers What Happiness Forgets (Dionne Warwick)
09. Lady Willpower (Gary Puckett & the Union Gap)
10. When You Close Your Eyes (Carly Simon)
11. Lenny’s Tune (Tim Hardin)
12. Some Say I Got Devil (Melanie)

The actual release date has yet to be confirmed.