Netflix Announce Money Heist Spinoff ‘Berlin’

Berlin - Netflix - Screen Grab

Netflix will release BERLIN, a spinoff for ‘La Casa de Papel‘ (Money Heist) follows one of the most extraordinary heists of the iconic character played by Pedro Alonso, who returns to the role of the hedonistic and clever Berlin.

There are only two things that are sure to turn a bad day into a great one: love, and a payday worth millions.

They’re what keep Berlin going through his golden years, a time when he still has no inkling of his illness and hasn’t gotten trapped like a rat in the Spanish Mint.

This is where he starts preparing one of his most extraordinary heists: making jewels worth 44 million disappear like some sort of magic trick. To do it, he’ll enlist the help of one of the three gangs he’s ever stolen with.

The spinoff for La casa de papel stars Pedro Alonso, Michelle Jenner, Tristán Ulloa, Begoña Vargas, Julio Peña Fernández and Joel Sánchez

Alongside him, his new gang: Michelle Jenner (‘Isabel’) plays Keila, an eminence in electronic engineering; Tristán Ulloa (‘Fariña’) goes into the skin of Damián, a philanthropic professor and Berlin’s confidant; Begoña Vargas (‘Welcome to Eden’) plays Cameron, a kamikaze who always lives on the edge; Julio Peña Fernández (‘Through My Window’) brings to life Roi, Berlin’s faithful squire; and Joel Sánchez plays Bruce, the relentless man of action in the gang. Itziar Ituño (‘La Casa de Papel’) and Najwa Nimri (‘La Casa de Papel’) come back to their roles as policewomen Raquel Murillo and Alicia Sierra respectively. 


Samantha Siqueiros (‘Lady of Steel’), Julien Paschal (‘One Year, One Night’), Masi Rodríguez and Rachel Lascar (‘Through my window’) complete the cast for ‘BERLIN’

The eight episodes of the series, created by Álex Pina (‘La Casa de Papel’, ‘Sky Rojo’) and Esther Martínez Lobato (‘La Casa de Papel’, ‘Sky Rojo’), are written by Álex Pina, Esther Martínez Lobato, David Barrocal, David Oliva and Lorena G. Maldonado. Will be directed by Albert Pintó (‘Sky Rojo’, ‘Malasaña 32′), David Barrocal (‘Sky Rojo’) and Geoffrey Cowper (‘Day Release’).