New Order Announce New Live Album And Concert Film


New Order have announced details of a new live album and concert film entitled ‘Education Entertainment Recreation’.

The footage is taken from their 2018 concert at London’s Alexandra Palace. It consists of over two hours of material which includes New Order tracks and Joy Division covers.

The live album and film are released on May 7 on various formats: 2CD audio, 2CD audio plus the film on BluRay, and 3LPs. A limited edition box set featuring all formats with a book and art prints will also be available.

It is available to pre-order here.

In a statement published on their website, New Order said:

“A career spanning celebration, the band were on relentlessly sparkling form, blending eras and genres and redefining themselves as perhaps the most vital British band of recent decades.  Lauded by both fans and critics, it is a timely reminder of the connection we are all missing from live music and the nights we have to look forward to.”

For a taster of what is expected from the new release, you can watch the band perform the track ‘Sub-Culture’ below.

New Order are set to embark on a co-headlining tour with Pet Shop Boys across North America later in the year. The band are scheduled for a headline show at the 02 in London in November as well.

New Order recently started their own podcast called transmissions. It tells the story of Joy Division and New Order. Bono was a guest on it and recalled the first time he met Ian Curtis. You can read all about it here.

In case you missed it, New Order released a new song last September and released a music video with Spanish director NYSU. You can check it out here.

New Order setlist from Alexandra Palace London 2018:

1. ‘Das Rheingold: Vorspiel’ (intro music)
2. ‘Singularity’
3. ‘Regret’
4. ‘Love Vigilantes’
5. ‘Ultraviolence’
6. ‘Disorder’
7. ‘Crystal’
8. ‘Academic’
9. ‘Your Silent Face’
10. ‘Tutti Frutti’
11. ‘Sub-Culture’
12. ‘BLT’
13. ‘Vanishing Point’
14. ‘Waiting For The Sirens Call’
15. ‘Plastic’
16. ‘The Perfect Kiss’
17. ‘True Faith’
18. ‘Blue Monday’
19. ‘Temptation’
20. ‘Atmosphere’
21. ‘Decades’
22. ‘Love Will Tear Us Apart’