No Countries On Ireland’s Green List For Safe Travel


Ryanair is threatening to close its bases in Cork and Shannon airports for the winter if the government fails to adopt the EU’s traffic light travel system next Tuesday.

There will be no countries on Ireland’s green list for safe travel from Monday, after four states (Cyprus, Finland, Latvia and Liechtenstein) were removed yesterday.

MEP Barry Andrews says he believes the government will sign up to the EU’s plan for more unrestricted travel next week.

The Department of Foreign Affairs said:

“The Green List was reviewed on the basis of ECDC data on Thursday 8 October. As no EU / EEA countries were below the required 14-day cumulative number of COVID-19 cases, there will be no countries on the Green List with effect from Monday 12 October.

“The next review will be on Thursday 15 October, with any changes to take effect from Monday 19 October.