The Raveonettes Surprise


    The Danish indie rock duo have sprung a surprise on us all, with the news of a new album, the record is called Pe’ahi, and is the band’s seventh studio LP.

    The Raveonettes are made up of Sune Rose Wagner (guitar, vocals) and Sharin Foo (bassist,vocals). They have an aggressive-edged electric guitar sound and are influenced by The Velvet Underground.

    The album takes its name from a Hawaiian surfing cove. In a statement, Sune Rose Wagner says the track ‘Endless Sleeper’, is a fair representation of how the album sounds. Singer Wagner said:

    “it’s about a horrific near-drowning experience I had in Hawaii some years ago. It’s about taking risks in order to exist. The song features a lot of recurring musical ideas of Pe’ahi such as Old Skool breakbeats, exaggerated dynamics, unconventional song structures, staccato guitar picking, intense layered vocals, etc…”

    The album was produced by Justin Meldal-Johnsen, who has worked with Beck, The Mars Volta, Nine Inch Nails, and Garbage.

    The first single appeared on The Raveonettes’ website and you can stream it below and download it for the price of your email address.

    Pe’ahi track listing:

    01 Endless Sleeper
    02 Sisters
    03 Killer in the Streets
    04 Wake Me Up
    05 Z-Boys
    06 A Hell Below
    07 The Rains of May
    08 Kill!
    09 When Night Is Almost Done
    10 Summer Ends