Ringrose Returns As Schmidt Makes Two Changes For Scotland


Leinster star Garry Ringrose makes a welcome return and starts for Ireland this weekend in place of the injured Chris Farrell, in a new-look Irish midfield for the penultimate Six Nations championship match against Scotland.

The young centre has been out since last year’s Six Nations, having suffered with shoulder and ankle problems in recent months. He’ll partner Bundee Aki in a new midfield partnership.

The rest of the backline is that which started the win over Wales with Keith Earls, Rob Kearney and Jaco Stockdale forming the back-three, while Jonathan Sexton and Conor Murray continue as the halfback pair.

In the pack there’s also just the one change from the win over Wales. Prop Tadhg Furlong trained fully this week after missing out against Warren Gatland’s side a fortnight ago. He’s restored the starting line-up in place of Andrew Porter respectively. 2nd row Iain Henderson is also back on the bench.

The Ireland squad selected to face Scotland this Saturday the 10th March, at the Aviva Stadium is as follows:

15. Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster) 81 caps
14. Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster) 65 caps
13. Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster) 11 caps
12. Bundee Aki (Galwegians/Connacht) 5 caps
11. Jacob Stockdale (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 7 caps
10. Johnny Sexton (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 71 caps
9. Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 62 caps
1. Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 76 caps
2. Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) 109 caps
3. Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster) 21 caps
4. James Ryan (UCD/Leinster) 6 caps
5. Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) 56 caps
6. Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 45 caps
7. Dan Leavy (UCD/Leinster) 7 caps
8. CJ Stander (Shannon/Munster) 21 caps


16. Sean Cronin (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 59 caps
17. Jack McGrath (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 45 caps
18. Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster) 5 caps
19. Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 36 caps
20. Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Leinster) 18 caps
21. Kieran Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht) 19 caps
22. Joey Carbery (Clontarf/Leinster) 8 caps
23. Jordan Larmour (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 1 cap