Julian Casablancas & The Voidz’s New Record


Strokes frontman Julian Casablancas is releasing his second solo album Tyranny tomorrow.

The wait is almost over, after getting some teases and tracks in the last few months, you can hear the debut album from Julian Casablancas and the Voidz on September 23rd.

The Voidz are, Jacob “Jake” Bercovici (bass guitar, synthesizers), Amir Yaghmai (guitar), and Jeramy “Beardo” Gritter (guitar).

In a press release Casablancas says he and The Voidz are dabbling in “an in-between area in music that hasn’t been explored.” Gritter adds, “He wanted you to have the ability to play technical stuff, but also be able to thrash on three chords. So, for me, this was the band I needed to be in.”

Casablancas talks about writing for the LP, “I think that also it takes a long time to train yourself to be able to say the things you want in lyrics without coming across heavy-handed. I’ve been focusing on trying to get better at lyrics. I didn’t even really think about lyrics for the first seven, eight years. I just worked on music — just like harmonies and different aspects of music. And then in the last bunch of years I’ve been focusing on that, and I think that it’s just all come together for me a little bit.”

The new record sounds like heavy, gritty and punk, with some Strokes-inspired guitar work. Casablancas describes Tyranny as a “protest record.”

The album, which is the follow-up to 2009’s Phrazes For The Young, is Casablancas’ first with his new backing band The Voidz.

Speaking to NME regarding album’s title, Casablancas said, “Tyranny has come in many forms throughout history. Now, the good business is pit above anything else, as corporations have become the new ruling body. Most decisions seem to be made like ones of a medieval king: whatever makes profit while ignoring and repressing the truth about whatever suffering it may cause (like pop music, for that matter).”

Listen to the track ‘Where No Eagles Fly’ below.

Tyranny is released on September 23rd.

Tyranny track list:

01. Take Me in Your Army
02. Crunch Punch
03. M.utually A.ssured D.estruction
04. Human Sadness
05. Where No Eagles Fly
06. Father Electricity
07. Johan Von Bronx
08. Business Dog
09. Xerox
10. Dare I Care
11. Nintendo Blood
12. Off to War…