The Mars Volta Announce New Album



, The Mars Volta Announce New Album

Story by Cat Badra

The Mars Volta will release their latest LP in March

Experimental prog-rock outfit the Mars Volta have announced that their sixth studio album, “Noctourniquet,” will drop March 27 via Warner Bros. Find the 13-song track listing at the bottom of the page.

Penned by band co-founders Omar Rodriguez-Lopez and Cedric Bixler-Zavala, with lyrics written by Bixler-Zavala, the band promises that the album will be a concept album of epic proportions. Bixler-Zavala’s lyrics, according to a release, will “trace a narrative journey with a defined protagonist, this time inspired by disparate elements including 1980s U.K. alt-rockers The Godfathers, Superman comic nemesis Solomon Grundy and the Greek myth of Hyacinthus.” Song titles are as perplexing as ever: “Lapochka,” “In Absentia,” “Molochwalker.” Sounds like typical Mars Volta fashion to us!

The Mars Volta’s previous studio album, “Octahedron,” debuted No. 12 in 2009. Meanwhile, Rodriguez-Lopez and Bixler-Zavala recently announced that they will reunite with their prior band, alternative, post-hardcore group At the Drive-In at Coachella Music and Arts Festival in California this April, alongside the Black Keys, Radiohead, Snoop Dog, Dr. Dre and more. At the Drive In broke up in 2001 at the pinnacle of their mass popularity following the release of their album “Relationship of Command,” with three of the band’s members forming alternative metal outfit Sparta.

‘Noctourniquet’ Track List:

01. The Whip Hand
02. Aegis
03. Dyslexicion
04. Empty Vessels Make the Loudest Sound
05. The Malkin Jewel
06. Lapochka
07. In Absentia
08. Imago
09. Molochwalker
10. Trinkets Pale of Moon
11. Vedamalady
12. Noctourniquet
13. Zed and Two Naughts