The Stranglers Honour Late Bandmate Dave Greenfield With New Album

Would you like to listen to the article instead of reading it?

The Stranglers have released their new album Dark Matters, paying tribute to late bandmate Dave Greenfield who passed away last May.

Greenfield passed away, having tested positive for Covid-19 after being admitted to hospital for heart problems.

At the time, the band confirmed the sad news via their website.

“We are deeply and profoundly saddened to announce the untimely passing of keyboard legend Dave Greenfield on the evening of 3rd May 2020”.

“Following a stay in hospital for heart problems, Dave tested positive for the Covid-19 virus last Sunday but he sadly lost his battle last night”.

“Dave had been an ever present in the band since joining in late 1975 and his keyboard wizardry was world-renowned over his 45 year career in The Stranglers. “Dave was a lovable, friendly and eccentric character who always had time to chat”. 

The Stranglers’ single “And If You Should See Dave” 

Surviving members of the Stranglers, Baz Warne and JJ Burnel worked remotely during lockdown on this new album. It is the band’s first album since releasing “Giants” in 2012.

Their single “And If You Should See Dave” is a fitting tribute to their former bandmate.

 “A year ago, on May 3rd my great friend and colleague of 45 years, Dave Greenfield, passed away, another victim of the pandemic”, JJ said.

“We had already recorded most of the album with him and during the lockdowns our only wish was to complete it as a fitting tribute to his life and work. I consider this to be one of our finest recordings”. 

The Stranglers are to also return for their final tour of Europe and the UK in 2022. This includes two sold out gigs in London’s O2 Brixton Academy.

They are to begin on January 25 in Lincoln, before finishing off on February 26 in Cambridge.

Dark Matters

Dark Matters is being released on 10 September 2021. The Stranglers also confirmed that the album contains a tribute CD to Greenfield.

Here is the track list:

1. ‘Water’

2. ‘This Song’

3. ‘And If You Should See Dave…’

4. ‘If Something’s Gonna Kill Me (It Might As Well Be Love)’

5. ‘No Man’s Land’

6. ‘The Lines’

7. ‘Payday’

8. ‘Down’

9. ‘The Last Men On The Moon’

10. ‘White Stallion’

11. ‘Breathe’