Twenty One Strong International Rules Squad To Head Down Under


Irish International Rules manager Joe Kernan has announced a provisional panel to travel to Adelaide and Perth early next month to face Australia in the International Rules Series.

Kernan has confirmed that Mayo’s Aidan O’Shea will captain the team with Conor McManus of Monaghan serving as vice-captain.

Following the loss of Paul Kerrigan and Conor McKenna, to club commitments and injury respectively, the Irish management have selected 21 players with two more to be confirmed in the coming days after more scheduled training sessions.

In all 14 counties are represented in the 21-strong panel with Mayo leading the contingent with four players and Kerry next with three.

Team manager Kernan, whose backroom team includes Darragh O Sé, Pádraic Joyce and Dermot Earley said: “I’d like to congratulate all of the players who have made the panel and acknowledge not only their hard work and training but that of all of the players who trialed and trained with us since our preparations commenced.

“Everyone involved is enthused by the prospect of representing Ireland and we are fully aware of the challenge involved in trying to retain the Cormac McAnallen Cup won against Australia at Croke Park two years ago.

“We are looking forward to pitting ourselves against the best the AFL has to offer in the coming weeks.”

GAA President Aogán O Fearghail added: “Well done to all of the players who have been selected to represent Ireland in this year’s series. I am aware of the preparation and efforts of the panel in recent weeks.

“I hope the large Irish community in Australia comes out and get behind the Irish team over the course of the two games and I am confident we will see two competitive tests exemplifying the best traits of our two games.”

Valerie Hedin, External Communications Manager at EirGrid added“We are extremely proud to sponsor this International Rules side and extend our very best wishes to Aidan O’Shea in his role as captain of the team. Sport is a huge part of the culture in both countries, and indeed plays a very important role in every community in Ireland, similarly to the national grid in providing a secure supply of electricity.

“This competition offers both countries the opportunity to show their national games on an international stage which is very special. We wish Joe, Aidan and the travelling side all the very best in their preparations and for the games ahead.”

Ireland play the first of two tests at the Adelaide Oval on Sunday November 12 and the second test is scheduled to take place six days later on November 18 at the Domain Stadium, Perth

Name  Club  County 
Niall Morgan  Edendork Tyrone
Chris Barrett  Belmullet Mayo
Gary Brennan  Clondegad Clare
Eoin Cadogan  Douglas Cork
Killian Clarke  Shercock Cavan
Peter Crowley  Laune Rangers Kerry
Kevin Feely  Athy Kildare
Paul Geaney  Dingle Kerry
Pearce Hanley  Gold Coast/Ballaghadereen Mayo
Brendan Harrison  Aghamore Mayo
Conor Mc Manus  Clontibret Monaghan
Michael Murphy  Glenswilly Donegal
Niall Murphy  Collera/Strandhill Sligo
Paul Murphy  Rathmore Kerry
Karl O’Connell   Tyholland Monaghan
Aidan O Shea  Breaffy Mayo
Niall Sludden  Dromore Tyrone
Enda Smith  Boyle Roscommon
Conor Sweeney  Ballyporeen Tipperary
Zach Tuohy  Geelong/Portlaoise Laois
Shane Walsh  Kilkerrin/Clonberne Galway
Stand By  
Mattie Donnelly  Trillick Tyrone
Niall Grimley  Madden Raparees Armagh
Connaire Harrison  Glasdrumman Down
Caolan Mooney  Rostrevor Down
Sean Murphy   Fenagh Carlow
Brendan Murphy  Rathvilly Carlow
Sean Powter  Douglas Cork