Watch The New Noel Gallagher & Johnny Marr Video


Noel Gallagher unveils his new music video with Johnny Marr, for the single ‘Ballad Of The Mighty I’, taken off his upcoming album.

His new LP titled Chasing Yesterday, is due out on March 2nd and is the second LP from the singer and his band High Flying Birds.

‘Ballad Of The Mighty I’ is the second song to be shared from Noel’s forthcoming record. Watch the first video for the tune ‘In The Heat Of The Moment’ here.

Gallagher said Marr came to the recording studio without even hearing a note of the song. “He just arrived with two guitars and a bag of effects pedals. And I have to say, he’s unbelievable. He’s way up there, on another level to the rest of us. The result is a burst of energy that helped make ‘…Mighty I’ one of the best songs I’ve ever written.”

Speaking to NME, Marr discussed his experiences with Noel in the studio.

Marr said, “He contacted me and said he had a song that he’d be happy for me to play on. I accepted, gladly, and it was was really good to spend a day playing guitar in a little studio near Chelsea Bridge. When that was done I listened to about eight songs on the album.”


The singer detailed what Chasing Yesterday sounds like. “It’s really good. What I heard of it was very melodic, some of it pretty rocking too, and fans are going to really like it. He doesn’t do things he doesn’t think are great. And his singing is really good on the album.”

What does Marr think about the dreaded second album syndrome? “In some ways it might be more of a challenge than the first, because he’s building on a successful solo career, essentially on his own. But he’s smart and everyone knows he knows what he’s doing.”

Noel Gallagher and The High Flying Birds will be playing at Dublin’s 3 Arena on Wednesday March 4th.

Chasing Yesterday track list:

1. Riverman
2. In The Heat Of The Moment
3. The Girl With X-Ray Eyes
4. Lock All The Doors
5. The Dying Of The Light
6. The Right Stuff
7. While The Song Remains The Same
8. The Mexican
9. You Know We Can’t Go Back
10. Ballad Of The Mighty I