Cycle Against Suicide’s Annual Campaign Underway


Cycle Against Suicide’s annual campaign is now underway with the opening of registration for the cycle which will take place from April 28th – May 7th.

Cycle Against Suicide is an initiative to raise awareness of the help and support networks that are available to people across Ireland who are battling with depression, self-harm, at risk of suicide or those bereaved by suicide.

Each year, Cycle Against Suicide brings together cyclists with different backgrounds and stories to help break the cycle of suicide in Ireland.

Since 2013, the event has seen over 15,000 cyclists take to the roads to help spread the message that ‘It’s OK not to feel OK; and it’s absolutely OK to ask for help’.

The official 2018 route schedule and map is now live; the route will pass through 17 counties and 67 towns, stopping at 40 locations throughout the 750 km route, rallying hope and support in localities around the nation.

It’s a staggering statistic that over 800 people die by suicide on the island of Ireland each year; that’s 800 families and communities left devastated; 800 lives cut short.

The power of the cycle and its message is something that brings families, communities, organisations, schools, individuals and cyclists of all abilities together with a common purpose of ending the cycle of suicide in Ireland today.

Speaking on the launch of the 2018 cycle, CEO of Cycle Against Suicide, Caroline Lafferty commented: “We all know someone affected by mental illness, even now stigma stops people from seeking help. It is due to stigma, fear and lack of understanding that many of us don’t talk about it.

“At Cycle Against Suicide, we are working with the people of Ireland to break down these barriers working to increase awareness of the support networks and treatments that are available to empower those affected.  Mental health illness like any other illness is treatable.”

You can register as a cyclist, volunteer or home-stay provider for the event as the main cycle gets underway on Saturday, 28 April 2018 – Monday, 7 May 2018.

Register your support at

The following towns will be on the route: 

 Start: Westmanstown Dublin morning of April 28th.

Navan 28th April

Newry 29th April

Belfast 30th April

Dungannon 1st May

Omagh 2nd May

Ballyshannon 3rd May

Ballina 4th May

Carrick on Shannon 5th May

Mullingar 6th May

Finish: Dublin May 7th