Kearney And O’Brien Back in Blue


Leinster Head Coach Reveals 23 Strong Match day squad to face Ulster in PRO14, Kearney And O’Brien Back in Blue


Leinster Head Coach Leo Cullen has announced his match day 23 to face Ulster in the Guinness PRO14 tomorrow at Kingspan Stadium.

(Kick Off: 6.30pm – live on BBC & SKY Sports).

British & Irish Lions Rob Kearney and Seán O’Brien are both recalled for the Round 7 clash.

Kearney comes into the number 15 jersey with Adam Byrne on the right wing and Dave Kearney on the left.

There is also a return from injury for Rory O’Loughlin who joins fellow St. Michael’s past pupil Noel Reid in the centre.

Jamison Gibson-Park and Ross Byrne start as the half back pairing for the trip to the Kingspan.

In the pack Jack McGrath and Tadhg Furlong start at loosehead and tighthead respectively while James Tracy wins his 50th cap at hooker.

Devin Toner is joined in the second row by James Ryan.

In the back row Dan Leavy starts his first game back from injury after impressing off the bench last week in Scotstoun, while Jordi Murphy also comes back into the side at open side flanker.

Finally Seán O’Brien is back from a calf injury to captain the side from the base of the scrum.

On the bench, having played for 40 minutes two weeks ago with the Leinster ‘A’ team, there is a first senior involvement of the season for Richardt Strauss having recovered from a knee injury.

Cullen also gave an injury update on a number of other players not involved this weekend.

Both Barry Daly and Josh van der Flier had procedures this week after both suffered syndesmosis injuries against Glasgow last weekend.

There was also an update on both Robbie Henshaw and Johnny Sexton who were both not considered for selection due to knocks taken in training during the week. However neither player is a long term injury concern.

Here’s the team…

DAN LEAVY looks ahead ……

Leinster Rugby (Leinster caps in brackets): 

15. Rob Kearney (187)
14. Adam Byrne (29)
13. Rory O’Loughlin (27)
12. Noel Reid (87)
11. Dave Kearney (115)
10. Ross Byrne (31)
9. Jamison Gibson-Park (35)
1. Jack McGrath (117)
2. James Tracy (49)
3. Tadhg Furlong (71)
4. Devin Toner (204)
5. James Ryan (4)
6. Dan Leavy (42)
7. Jordi Murphy (91)
8. Seán O’Brien (111) CAPTAIN

16. Richardt Strauss (147)
17. Cian Healy (179)
18. Andrew Porter (13)
19. Ross Molony (50)
20. Jack Conan (58)
21. Luke McGrath (81)
22. Cathal Marsh (22)
23. Jordan Larmour (4)

Referee: John Lacey (IRFU)