Minister Acts on Advise From CMO to add to ‘High-Risk’ List of Countries


The Minister for Health, Stephen Donnelly has confirmed the addition of 18 states to the list of ‘high-risk’ countries.

Passengers arriving from these countries must complete a mandatory 14-day period of self-quarantine.

Under Regulations that entered into force on February 4th, the Minister for Health, on the advice of the Chief Medical Officer Dr. Tony Holohan can specify additional states as ‘Category 2’ states.

Brazil and the Republic of South Africa have been on the list since February 4, 2021.

The National Oversight Group for Variants of Concern has advised of additional high-risk countries.

The Chief Medical Officer advised the Minister for Health that more stringent restrictions on travel should now also be applied to the following states:

  • Angola
  • Austria
  • Botswana
  • Burundi
  • Cape Verde
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Eswatini
  • Mauritius
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Rwanda
  • Seychelles
  • Tanzania
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Minister Donnelly said “Under the current Level 5 restrictions nobody should be engaging in non-essential travel at this time. These stringent measures on people arriving to Ireland from 20 states are necessary in responding to the risks posed by variants of concern.

People who arrive in Ireland must now complete a full mandatory 14-day period of self-quarantine if they have been in any of these states in the previous 14 days. The Government will shortly consider legislation that will require such passengers arriving here to complete this quarantine at a designated facility.”

The Minister for Justice is examining the question of changes to visa arrangements in respect of applicable states being added to the schedule 2 list.