Schools And Colleges Close As Red Alert Takes Centre Stage


Schools and colleges in red alert weather areas are to remain closed today as the cold snap took centre stage overnight.

A red weather alert warning has been issued for five counties, Dublin, Meath, Kildare, Louth and Wicklow.

The below schools and colleges have announced that they will be closed today:

  • Community national schools in Dublin, Kildare and Navan are all closed
  • St Raphael’s Stillorgan, Co Dubllin
  • St Benildus College, Stillorgan
  • Holy Family NS Dun Laoghaire
  • St Josephs  NS  Dun Laoghaire
  • Riverview Educate Together
  • Swords Educate Together
  • Firhouse Educate Together
  • Our Lady’s Grove in Goatstown
  • St Dominic’s College in Ballyfermot
  • St Kevin’s Primary School in Kilnamanagh
  • Colaiste Eanna in Rathfarnham
  • Loreto secondary school in Balbriggan
  • Lusk National School
  • Loreto Primary School Dalkey
  • St Brigid’s Primary School Cabinteely
  • Ringsend College
  • Citywest Educate Together
  • Powerstown Educate Together
  • Bracken Educate Together
  • Skerries Community College
  • St Joseph’s Mercy Secondary School Navan
  • CBS Mullingar
  • CBS Kilkenny
  • Navan Educate Together
  • Maynooth University
  • IT Tallaght
  • IT Blanchardstown
  • DCU – will remain closed until Monday morning.
  • UCD
  • DIT
  • Cork IT – All campus will remain closed until Friday morning pending further advice at 2pm tomorrow.
  • WIT
  • Carlow IT
  • Dundalk IT

This list will be maintained as the day goes on – check back for updates.