Blur Announce New Album ‘The Ballad Of Darren’


Last week, Blur announced a new album ‘The Ballad Of Darren’, alongside an accompanying single, ‘The Narcissist’. 

Arriving on June 21 via Parlophone, ‘The Ballad Of Darren’ will be the band’s first new album since 2015 when they released ‘The Magic Whip’. you can pre order the album here.

Previewing this new single, ‘Blur’ also shared an accompanying new single ‘The Narcissist’, which you can check out below.

On the album itself, frontman Damon Albarn described ‘The Ballad Of Darren’ as  “an aftershock record”, which entails “reflection and comment on where we find ourselves now”. 

Guitarist Graham Coxon also said, “The older and madder we get, it becomes more essential that what we play is loaded with the right emotion and intention. Sometimes just a riff doesn’t do the job”. 

Blur drummer Dave Rowntree said that “it always feels very natural to make music together”, adding, “With every record we do, the process reveals something new and we develop as a band. We don’t take that for granted”. 

While Alex James added that “for any long term relationship to last with any meaning you have to be able to surprise each other somehow and somehow we all continue to do that”.

The tracklist for Blur Album: ‘The Ballad Of Darren’

  • ‘The Ballad’
  • ‘St Charles Square’
  • ‘Barbaric’
  • ‘Russian Strings’
  • ‘The Everglades (For Leonard)’
  • ‘The Narcissist’
  • ‘Goodbye Albert’
  • ‘Far Away Island’
  • ‘Avalon’
  • ‘The Heights’

Blur Reunite With Phil Daniels 

Last weekend, Blur also took to the stage at Eastbourne, where they performed classic tracks, as well as tunes from their latest album.

The show also saw them joined on stage by actor Phil Daniels, who also narrated the 1994 track ‘Parklife’, alongside Damon Albarn and co.

Blur performed the track alongside Daniels on stage. Check that performance out as well as Nova’s report on that story here.