The Drums Reappear


The Brooklyn indie band return with their first new song in three years ‘Magic Mountain’, taken from the band’s upcoming third studio album Encyclopedia.

The Drums burst onto the scene in 2009 with the Summertime EP and the ‘Beach Boys’ influenced single ‘Let’s Go Surfing’. The Drums’ self titled debut LP received very positive reviews from critics, NME gave the album 8/10 saying: “The Drums have proved… there’s still a hurricane of heartsore life in guitar pop.”

The Band previewed their new album Encyclopedia on the roof of a Times Square hotel in earlier this month. The gig was free to attend, with a line of people queuing around the block to try and get in.

‘Magic Mountain’ marks a change in the band’s indie/pop guitar sound, it’s certainly the most aggressive sounding track they’ve ever done. The Drums’ frontman Jonny Pierce said it was “a sparkling reflection of our last three years”.

The Drums’ lineup has altered slightly with, the departure of Adam Kessler (guitar) and Connor Hanwick (drums). Although The Drums’ founding members Jonny Pierce (singer) and Jacob Graham (guitar) remain.

Commenting on their new material, Pierce told Noisey:

“Not since the ‘Summertime!’ EP has it been just Jacob and I left up to our own devices. Now that we’re back to just the two founding members, we figured we could do whatever we wanted and run with it. Together, we had just one goal: let go of any preconceived ideas that anyone has about The Drums and make songs to be as grand and majestic as we want them to be. It’s about shedding off what binds you and protecting what’s good, finding a safe place away from everyone and everything that wants to destroy you.”

The Drums will be touring in the States for September/October, no European tour dates have been announced yet.


Encyclopedia Track Listing:

1. “Magic Mountain”
2. “I Can’t Pretend”
3. “I Hope Times Doesn’t Change Him”
4. “Kiss Me Again”
5. “Let Me”
6. “Break My Heart”
7. “Face Of God”
8. “U.S. National Park”
9. “Deep In My Heart”
10. “Bell Laboratories”
11. “There Is Nothing Left”
12. “Wild Geese”