No Blues For Ladies On All Stars Night


The TG4 Ladies Football All Star awards took place over the weekend, however, there were no blues in sight when it came to the Dublin ladies football team.

Taking home six All Star awards and a player of the year gong meant there were plenty of smiles all around for the Dubs at the Citywest Hotel.

Leah Caffrey, Rachel Ruddy, Noelle Healy, Nicole Owens, Sinead Aherne and Ciara Trant all coveted awards for their prowess throughout the year.

Topping off a successful year for the Dublin side, Noelle Healy, who picked up her third All Star on the night, was also awarded the Players’ Player of the Year award.

While Healy has become the first Dublin player to collect the award, the historics weren’t about to stop there as Mayo’s Cora Staunton made history of her own.

Staunton collected her 11th All Star award, equalling a record held by Kerry’s, Mary-Jo Curran.

The stalwart’s side bagged three awards on the night, with teammates Sarah Tierney and Aileen Gilroy.

Players from Armagh, Cork, Kerry and Donegal were all represented on the night, as Donegal’s Ciara and Niamh Hegarty, became the first set of sisters to be named together on an All-Star team since 2013.

Don’t forget you can keep up-to-date on all things Nova over on our Instagram page – follow us for all the craziness of radio life coupled with LOTS of cool competitions! Click here…

Feature Image: Sean Reid