Noel Gallagher Says Being Irish Makes Him A Comfortable Writer


Noel Gallagher has been chatting about his new upcoming album titled Chasing Yesterday.

The forthcoming LP will be the second solo record from the former Oasis member and his band High Flying Birds. It’s expected to be released on March 2nd.

In an interview with NME, Gallagher warned any soft-hearted fans out there that Chasing Yesterday is packed with tunes that’ll “make you kind of punch in the air while crying a little bit”.

Never one to shy away from his Irish roots, Noel described the paradox of writing a jubilant yet moving song as when he feels “most comfortable writing.”

“It’s the Irish in me, that’s what we do. We’re never happy. We rage joy. Even ‘Some Might Say’, for instance, is a very melancholic Irish kind of anthem.”

Gallagher also said he was desperate to get Johnny Marr to feature on his second single ‘Ballad of The Mighty I’ because he “needed a bit of funk.”

 “I tried to get him on the last record because there’s a bit in ‘AKA…What A Life!’ that I thought needed a bit of funk, and he’s got the funk, but he couldn’t do it, so I had to do it. And I was embarrassed doing it because I haven’t got the funk.”

Noel said Marr came to the recording studio without even hearing a note of the song. “He just arrived with two guitars and a bag of effects pedals. And I have to say, he’s unbelievable. He’s way up there, on another level to the rest of us. The result is a burst of energy that helped make ‘…Mighty I’ one of the best songs I’ve ever written.”

Listen to ‘Ballad Of The Mighty I’ below.


Noel Gallagher and The High Flying Birds will be playing at Dublin’s 3 Arena on Wednesday March 4th.

Chasing Yesterday track list:

1. Riverman
2. In The Heat Of The Moment
3. The Girl With X-Ray Eyes
4. Lock All The Doors
5. The Dying Of The Light
6. The Right Stuff
7. While The Song Remains The Same
8. The Mexican
9. You Know We Can’t Go Back
10. Ballad Of The Mighty I