Red Hot Chili Peppers, Beastie Boys Enter Rock and Roll Hall of Fame


Guns N’ Roses, Beastie Boys, Red Hot Chili Peppers among latest Hall of Fame inductees

Red Hot Chili Peppers fans are likely screaming, “Long live the Peppers!” The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame today (Dec. 7) announced its newest inductees, and the list is long, recruiting rock talent from the likes of the Red Hot Chili Peppers, as well as Beastie Boys, Guns N’ Roses, the Small Faces / Faces, Donovan and Laura Nyro. Others earning honors include Freddie King, who will enter the Hall of Fame as an Early Influence, and late producer and TV host Don Kirshner, who will pick up the Ahmet Ertegun (non-performer) Award. Producers Cosimo Matassa, Tom Dowd and Glyn Johns will receive the Award for Musical Excellence.

Some of those who were glanced over this year include Joan Jett, the Cure, Heart and hip-hip duo Eric B. & Rakim. Heart fans, especially, may take this one heard. Acts become eligible to get inducted into the Hall 25 years after the release of their first single or album, so this year’s inductees all began releasing music in or before 1986. Guns N’ Roses are the only band to be inducted on their first year of eligibility. As for the Peppers, the question is, “Will John Frusiante come to the induction?” One can only hope.

While Guns N’ Roses fans are stoked their guys made it in, it remains up in the air whether the band will perform together at the ceremony. The original line-up hasn’t played live since drummer Steven Adler left the outfit in 1990, and Axl Rose may not want to step on stage with Adler ever again. Only time will tell whether this would-be historical performance will happen.

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame induction ceremony will take place on April 14 in Cleveland, at Cleveland’s Public Hall. This is the third time that the induction ceremony will take place in Cleveland, famously home of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum. The show will be broadcast on HBO in early May.