Pink Floyd Releases New Album Details


I hope you’re sitting down, take a deep breath, inhale, now exhale – Pink Floyd have released details about their upcoming new album.

It’s the band’s first record for more than two decades, they unveiled the artwork on buildings in ten international cities around the world.

The new LP from David Gilmour, Rick Wright and Nick Mason is called The Endless River. It’s an 18-track, four-sided double-album, keeping the classic format and will be out in early November.

This is the bands first album in 20 years, since 1994′s The Division Bell. It is based on recordings from the same 1994 session, and will feature contributions from deceased keyboard player Richard Wrightwho passed away in 2008.

In a press release Nick Mason said: “The Endless River is a tribute to Rick.  I think this record is a good way of recognizing a lot of what he does and how his playing was at the heart of the Pink Floyd sound.  Listening back to the sessions, it really brought home to me what a special player he was.”

David Gilmour stated: “We listened to over 20 hours of the three of us playing together and selected the music we wanted to work on for the new album. Over the last year we’ve added new parts, re-recorded others and generally harnessed studio technology to make a 21st century Pink Floyd album. With Rick gone, and with him the chance of ever doing it again, it feels right that these revisited and reworked tracks should be made available as part of our repertoire.”

The Endless River is mainly instrumental, apart from the track ‘Louder Than Words,’ featuring lyrics by Gilmour’s wife Polly Samson.

The cover image of a man rowing on a river of clouds was created by an 18-year-old Egyptian digital artist named Ahmed Emad Eldin. “When we saw Ahmed’s image it had an instant Floydian resonance. It’s enigmatic and open to interpretation, and is the cover that works so well for The Endless River.”

The group released a 30-second teaser clip of first track ‘It’s What We Do’ on a new Pink Floyd website today.

The album will be released on Parlophone on Friday November 7th.

The Endless River track list:

Side 1

Things Left Unsaid
It’s What We Do
Ebb and Flow

Side 2


Side 3

The Lost Art of Conversation
On Noodle Street
Night Light
Allons-y (1)
Allons-y (2)
Talkin’ Hawkin

Side 4

Eyes to Pearls
Louder Than Words