Listen: Prince Estate Announces New Album And Shares Song

Prince's Estate Sues Cybersquatter Over

A new album of previously unheard material by Prince is going to be released. The popstar’s estate has announced the release of Piano & A Microphone: 1983  on what would have been his 60th birthday.  You can check out the record’s version of ‘Mary Don’t You Weep‘ below.

The nine track, 35-minute album will be called ‘Piano and a Microphone 1983‘ and will feature a home studio cassette recording of the musician, who died in April 2016.

Piano & A Microphone: 1983, will be released on September 21st and was recorded during a rehearsal at Prince’s home studio in Chanhassen, Minnesota. The album also includes a cover of Joni Mitchell’sA Case of You‘ and versions of ‘Purple Rain, 17 Days.’

Here’s the shared track:

Here’s the setlist…

Piano & A Microphone: 1983:

01 17 Days
02 Purple Rain
03 A Case Of You
04 Mary Don’t You Weep
05 Strange Relationship
06 International Lover
07 Wednesday
08 Cold Coffee & Cocaine
09 Why The Butterflies

The news comes as another album is due for release next year. A previously unheard Prince album is due for release on Tidal in 2019. The news comes after the late musician’s estate ended a massive legal battle with the streaming giant. The two opposing parties sued each other in 2016 over in a bid to secure the rights to stream the singer’s unreleased music, including his entire back catalogue.

Don’t forget you can keep up-to-date on all things Nova over on our Instagram page – follow us for all the craziness of radio life coupled with news, sports and LOTS of cool competitions! Click here…