Smokers Lobby Reveals 2018 ‘Golden Nannies’


Smokers’ group Forest Ireland has announced the shortlist for the 2018 Golden Nanny Awards.

The annual event, in just it’s second year, honours politicians, NGOs and individuals who support ‘nanny state’ regulations on lifestyle issues including smoking tobacco, drinking alcohol or eating ‘unhealthy’ foods.

Among those shortlisted for awards are minister for health Simon Harris TD; former health minister Senator Dr James Reilly; former minister of state for health promotion Marcella Corcoran Kennedy TD; Professor Donal O’Shea, clinical lead for obesity, HSE; Dr Patrick Doorley, chairman, ASH Ireland; Dr Bobby Smyth, board member, Alcohol Action Ireland; and Eunan McKinney, head of communications and advocacy, Alcohol Action Ireland.

Following the introduction of campus smoking bans Trinity College Dublin, University College Dublin and the University of Limerick have also been shortlisted for a ‘Nanny’.

Another nominee, the Restaurants Association of Ireland, has been shortlisted after its chief executive gave a “cautious welcome” to a ban on smoking in outdoor dining areas.

John Mallon, spokesman for Forest Ireland, said:

“The Golden Nanny Awards celebrate excellence in finger-wagging and an unhealthy desire to intervene in other people’s lives.

“This year’s shortlist is particularly strong. Choosing the winners will be difficult because every nominee deserves a Nanny.

“The judging panel will examine the evidence very carefully before deciding who should receive one of these coveted awards.”

The award for Nanny-in-Chief 2017 was won by Senator Catherine Noone.

Accepting her prize, Senator Noone said:

“This is not about telling people what to do, but it is vital that the government raises awareness of how to prevent health issues rather than simply treating them.”

She later tweeted ……

The Golden Nanny Awards are organised by Forest Ireland and supported by Students for Liberty Ireland. The winners of the 2018 awards will be announced at a dinner in Dublin on Tuesday 20th November.