The Eagles' Greatest Hits 1971-75


Eagles TheirTheir Greatest Hits (1971–1975) is a singles compilation album by the Eagles, released in 1976. As of November 2012, 29 million copies have been shipped in the domestic market, making it tied with Michael Jackson’s Thriller as the best-selling album in the United States. With an additional 13 million internationally, for a total of 42 million, it is one of the top-selling albums in music history

Their Greatest Hits (1971–1975) comprises ten best-selling singles released between 1972 and 1975, as well as “Desperado”, which had never been previously released as an A-side. All single tracks but “Tequila Sunrise” charted in the top 40, with five in the top ten, and “One of These Nights” and “Best of My Love” both topping the singles chart. With such airplay success in the span of a little over four years, the band became a formidable presence on American commercial radio in the 1970s, and Their Greatest Hits (1971–1975) debuted at number four on the Billboard 200 album chart upon its release and later peaked at number 1.[3]

According to the RIAA website, on February 24, 1976, the album achieved the distinction of being the first to receive the RIAA Platinum award, which was introduced in 1976, in recognition of one million shipments in the United States. In August 1990 it was certified 12× Platinum, and on November 10, 1999, it became the all-time best-selling album in the United States when it was certified 26× Multi Platinum. In a 2001 radio interview, Randy Meisner revealed neither he nor Bernie Leadon were even notified of the record-breaking award presented to them in 1999, and “…had to call and we finally received it.” It was certified at 29× Multi Platinum on 30 January 2006, and has sold over 42 million copies worldwide to date.Michael Jackson’s Thriller is the only other album certified 29× Multi Platinum. This can be compared to another popular album of the time, Led Zeppelin’s Led Zeppelin IV, which was released in 1971 and is 23x Platinum. Their Greatest Hits (1971–1975) is listed at #1 on the RIAA’s “Top 100 Albums”. The album hit its peak on the charts in 1976 when it was ranked #1 on The Billboard 200.

Their Greatest Hits (1971-1975) was released on February 17, 1976 on Asylum Records label. Only 10 months later on December 8, 1976 they released their second most popular album to date, Hotel California. The Eagles released their first greatest hits album before they even released their most popular album. Because this album was a greatest hits album, there was no promotional tour. In fact, directly after releasing this album the band started their work on Hotel California. The album was said on Sputnik Music to be a holdover until their next album release.

Track listing

Side One
No. Title Writer(s) Album Length
1. “Take It Easy” Jackson Browne/Glenn Frey Eagles 3:29
2. “Witchy Woman” Don Henley/Bernie Leadon Eagles 4:10
3. “Lyin’ Eyes” Henley/Frey One of These Nights 6:21
4. “Already Gone” Jack Tempchin/Rob Strandlund On the Border 4:13
5. “Desperado” Henley/Frey Desperado 3:33
Side Two
No. Title Writer(s) Album Length
6. “One of These Nights” Henley/Frey One of These Nights 4:51
7. “Tequila Sunrise” Henley/Frey Desperado 2:52
8. “Take It to the Limit” Randy Meisner/Henley/Frey One of These Nights 4:48
9. “Peaceful Easy Feeling” Jack Tempchin Eagles 4:16
10. “Best of My Love” Henley/Frey/J.D. Souther On the Border 4:35