Tom Jones Releases Music Video For No Hole In My Head


Tom Jones has released a music video for his new single, a cover of Malvina Reynolds’ track ‘No Hole In My Head’.

The Welsh singer is releasing an album full of covers. It’s called ‘Surrounded By Time’ and will be released via EMI on April 23. You can pre-order the album here.

The track was originally a folk song recorded by influential folk singer, Malvina Reynolds. Tom Jones has reworked it as an upbeat pop-rock song. The video sees Jones interrogated by a dark and intimidating figure.

You can watch the video below.

In a statement, Tom Jones said: “This song is powerful at any age. It’s about having confidence in who you are.”

“Particularly during this time of a pervasive, boundless media that can wield so much influence, it’s more important than ever to know and be strong in your own self.”

The new album is co-produced by Ethan Jones and Mark Woodward. It is Jones’ first album since 2015 when he released ‘Long Lost’ Suitcase’. The new record features covers of songs from Cat Stevens, Bob Dylan and many more.

‘Surrounded By Time’ is a covers album. Speaking about the new album in a Facebook post, Jones said “Last year, during lockdown and after 5 years of enormous personal changes, I finally found the need to express myself again through my music. So I got into the studio with some great friends and musicians and created a new album!”

“Who expects what is always so completely unexpected? My personal clock started ticking in 1940, and with all the magnificent strangeness of life on this planet both speeding up and slowing down, the album is titled Surrounded By Time.”

“Each song tells a story that comes from me and reflects my own experience at some time or another. It’s been a helluva ride, and I am really, really proud of this record – it’s a great listen and I hope you take a moment to give it some Time.”

“Come along with me on this storybook ride… I guarantee you’ll love it!”

Tom Jones – Surrounded By Time tracklist

1 ‘I Won’t Crumble With You If You Fall’ (Bernice Johnson Reagon)
2 ‘The Windmills Of Your Mind’ (Michel Legrand/Alan & Marilyn Bergman)
3 ‘Popstar’ (Cat Stevens/Yusuf Islam)
4 ‘No Hole In My Head’ (Malvina Reynolds)
5 ‘Talking Reality Television Blues’ (Todd Snider)
6 ‘I Won’t Lie’ (Michael Kiwanuka & Paul Butler)
7 ‘This is the Sea’ (Michael Scott)
8 ‘One More Cup Of Coffee’ (Bob Dylan)
9 ‘Samson And Delilah’ (Tom Jones, Ethan Johns, Mark Woodward)
10 ‘Old Mother Earth’ (Tony Joe White)
11 ‘I’m Growing Old’ (Bobby Cole)
12 ‘Lazurus Man’ (Terry Callier)