Vote For Irish Song Of The Year


The shortlist has been announced for the Meteor Choice Music Prize’s ‘Irish Song of the Year 2014.’

The list includes Hozier’s ‘From Eden’, Delorentos’ ‘Show Me Love’, The Riptide Movement’s ‘All Works Out’ and The Coronas’ ‘All The Others’.

In total there are ten Irish songs up for the award, all compiled from the Irish Airplay charts.

The award for ‘Irish Song of the Year’ is to “encouraged people to celebrate Irish artists by shining a spotlight on the very best songs of the past year. The platform for homegrown Irish music has grown since the Irish Song of the Year Prize was established in 2011, and competition for the award is always fierce,” says

The public can now vote for their favourite track and the winner will be unveiled at the 10th Annual Choice Music Prize at Vicar Street on March 5th.

Listen to Dee Woods & Marty Miller chat about the awards here on Morning Glory.

Full list below.

The Coronas – All The Others (Universal)

Delorentos – Show Me Love (Universal Music Ireland)

Hozier – From Eden (Rubyworks / Universal)

Kodaline – One Day (Sony Music)

Kormac – Wake Up (Bodytonic)

Little Hours – It’s Still Love (Little Hours Music)

The Minutes – Cherry Bomb (Model Citizen)

Sinead O’ Connor – Take Me To Church (Nettwerk)

The Riptide Movement – All Works Out (Universal Music Ireland)

The Script – Superheroes (Sony Music)


Earlier this month, the Meteor Choice Music Prize ‘Irish Album of the Year 2014′ shortlist was announced, featuring U2′s Songs Of Innocence, Hozier’s self titled debut and Delorentos’ Night Becomes Light.

Check out the full list below.

Aphex Twin – Syro (Warp)

Delorentos – Night Becomes Light (Universal Ireland)

The Gloaming – The Gloaming (Real World)

Hozier – Hozier (Rubyworks/Universal)

James Vincent McMorrow – Post Tropical (Faction)

Sinead O’ Connor – I’m Not Bossy, I’m The Boss (Nettwerk)

Damien Rice – My Favourite Faded Fantasy (Warner Music)

The Riptide Movement – Getting Through (Universal Ireland)

U2 – Songs of Innocence (Island)

We Cut Corners – Think Nothing (Delphi)