2014 Q Awards Nominations Have Been Unveiled

Arctic Monkeys

The nominations have been announced for the annual Q Awards, featuring the likes of Arctic Monkeys, Kate Bush, Royal Blood and Kasabian.

The celebrations will take place in London on October 22nd, hosted by Absolute Radio’s Christian O’Connell and we can reveal the 2014 shortlist.

Kasabian lead the nominations this year and have the chance to collect four awards, with nominations for Best Track ‘Eez-eh’, Best Album 48:13, Best Act In The World Today and Best Live Act.

Arctic Monkeys have three nominations for Best Video ‘Arabella’, Best Act In The World Today and having just headlined the Reading And Leeds Festivals, they are among the contenders for Best Live Act.

Recent chart toppers Royal Blood have been nominated for Best New Act Award. Their self-titled debut went straight into the number 1 spot and the group also achieved the fastest-selling rock debut in three years.

Musician Kate Bush, who recently made a comeback to the stage after 35 years, has been nominated for two Q Awards. The singer has been shortlisted for Best Live Act and Best Act In The World Today alongside Kasabian, Arctic Monkeys, Pharrell Williams and Arcade Fire.

Matt Mason, from Q magazine said, “It’s been a remarkable and fascinating 12 months for music, and these nominations are a measure of that. We’ve had the surprise and brilliance of Kate Bush’s return alongside the excitement and invention delivered by all the nominees in the best new act category.”

“From the two-man blast of newcomers Royal Blood to headline performances from Kasabian, Arcade Fire and Arctic Monkeys, there have been constant reminders of rock’n’roll’s enduring power to knock our socks off. All the nominated acts have helped make 2014 a brilliant year.”

Other nominees include Elbow, Manic Street Preachers, Kasabian, Damon Albarn and The Black Keys will do battle for the honour of best album.

Damon Albarn and Jake Bugg also feature on the shortlist for Best Solo Artist.

Kasabian’s frontman Tom Meighan, recently dropped into Radio Nova’s Morning Glory to chat with Dee Woods and Marty Miller about their new album, listen to the chat below.

Check out the full list of nominees below.

Q Best New Act presented by Xperia Access
Ella Eyre
Sam Smith
The Fat White Family
Royal Blood
FKA Twigs
The 1975
George Ezra
London Grammar

Q Best Track presented by Absolute Radio

Paolo Nutini – Iron Sky
Sam Smith – Stay With Me
Lorde – Royals
Kaiser Chiefs – Coming Home
Kasabian – Eez-eh

Q Best Video
Arctic Monkeys – Arabella
Elbow – New York Morning
Coldplay – Magic
Jamie xx – Sleep Sound
Paloma Faith – Only Love Can Hurt Like This

Q Best Album
Elbow – The Take Off And Landing Of Everything
Manic Street Preachers – Futurology
Kasabian – 48:13
Damon Albarn – Everyday Robots
The Black Keys – Turn Blue

Q Best Live Act presented by The Cavern Club
Arcade Fire
Arctic Monkeys
Kate Bush
Jack White

Q Best Solo Artist presented by Citroën
Paolo Nutini
St Vincent
Damon Albarn
Jake Bugg
Ed Sheeran

Q Best Act In The World Today presented by Buster + Punch
Arctic Monkeys
Pharrell Williams
Arcade Fire
Kate Bush