MxPx to Release New Album, ‘Plans within Plans,’ in April


MxPx: ‘Plans within Plans’ describes ‘mayhem’ of the recording process.

Longstanding pop-punk guys MxPx are have announced that their new album, “Plans within Plans,” will arrive April 3 via MRI / Rock City Recording. The 13-track release is the band’s first album of originals since 2007’s, “Secret Weapon.”

Vocalist and bass player Mike Herrera says the album’s title is a reference to the hard work that goes into making a rock band successful. “I struggled with this album title for a long time,” said Herrera, who also self-produced the album, in an official statement. “I had been recording this album in between tours and booking tours, studio sessions, and trying to live somewhat of a normal life. Life got in the way of that. ‘Plans Within Plans’ was the only way I could describe all the mayhem that was going on behind the scenes of putting this collection of brand new songs together.”

MxPx — which bring together the high-octane talents of Herrera, guitarist Tom Wisniewski and drummer Yuri Ruley — have created punk revivalist tracks with a pop accessibility for over 19 years. In the process, they’ve sold over 2.5 million records worldwide and created a strong following of fans in the rock, surf / skate and punk underground communities. MxPx recently released a triple pack collection, titled “Triple Shot,” via Tooth and Nail Records. The set packs all of the songs from the band’s first three albums — “Pokinatcha,” “Teenage Politics” and “Life In General” — in one complete collection. Read more about the “Triple Shot” release on this page.