Two New Prince Albums


Prince has been teasing the release of his upcoming Plectrum Electrum album for some time, now he’s announced there will be a double release next month.

The notoriously private singer announced details of his album Plectrum Electrum earlier this year.

Speaking to the Minneapolis Star Tribune, Prince described the album, “I’ve finally got something that is a cohesive statement.” The record’s opening track will apparently be an electro-funk song called The Gold Standard, followed by a “complex electronic discourse” track, Prince said.

He released the single Breakfast Can Wait, featuring for its cover art, comedian Dave Chappelle. The cover shows Chappelle dressed as Prince, from the comedian’s sketch series titled Chappelle’s Show.


Earlier this year, Prince performed in London with his an all-girl band 3RDEYEGIRL. The band includes, Prince on vocals, Ida Nielsen on bass, Hannah Ford on drums and Donna Grantis on guitar. He held gorilla style shows in Camden and Shepherds Bush, as well as a gig at English soul singers’ home Lianne La Hayas.

Now, he’s revealed that Plectrum Electrum will be released alongside another full-length album, Art Official Age. Although, 3RDEYEGIRL will not feature on this separate LP.

Art Official Age, will be Prince’s  37th album and features thirteen tracks. It will be the singer’s first release from Warner Bros in eighteen years. He famously had a falling out with the label, that lead him to changing his name to an unpronounceable symbol and scrawling slave on the side of his face.

Art Official Age and Plectrum Electrum are due out on 29 September.

Art Official Age track list:

1. Art Official Cage
2. Clouds
3. Breakdown
4. The Gold Standard
5. U Know Prince
6. Breakfast Can Wait
7. This Could Be Us
8. What It Feels Like
9. Affirmation I & II
10. Way Back Home
11. Funkroll
12. Time
13. Affirmation III