Radio’s Nova’s Awards Triple Treat

Iain White Photography

Three Radio Nova presenters were named in the 2020 IMRO Radio Awards shortlist today.

Colm Hayes, from The Colm & Lucy Breakfast Show, joins an accomplished group in the running for Music and Entertainment Presenter of the Year.

The Saturday Soundtrack with Peter Devlin is in the running for Best Music Programme and Kieran McGuinness could be named Specialist Music Broadcaster of the Year.

In 2019, Radio Nova won bronze for The Saturday Soundtrack with Peter Devlin and the bronze award for Specialist Music Broadcaster of the Year was awarded to Kieran McGuinness.

Fending off stiff competition from Today FM, Cork’s 96FM, 98FM, FM104 & Spin 103.8, in 2018 Radio Nova won the top honor for Station Imaging created by Colm Hayes and Production Manager Fiona Scally.

Iain White Photography

Last week the 105 judges led by Chair of the Judges, Peter McPartlin, spent over 42 hours on Zoom narrowing down the 673 entries for this year’s awards to form the shortlist announced today.

Peter and the judges commented on the outstanding creativity and broadcasting quality this year, particularly through the difficulties of lockdown when so many radio programmes were being broadcast from the homes across the country to the homes of listeners.

Chair of the IMRO Radio Awards committee, Chris Doyle said “Radio has had some of its finest moments over the last twelve months. We are delighted to celebrate the work of all those involved in the industry this year as much as any other year. We’ve shared the good news and the bad news stories, but we’ve always been there for the listeners.” 

Due to government guidelines, there will be a Virtual Live Stream event on Friday 2nd October 2020 in place of the usual gala dinner.