RTÉ Choice Music Prize 2018 Announces Shortlist


The RTÉ Choice Music Prize have revealed the shortlist for 2018’s Irish album of the year award.

This year’s list is as diverse and talented as always. Bands like Delorentos, Wyvern Lingo (pictured above) and Villagers seem like very good contenders. However, as always it’s a hard one to call considering the Choice Prize grants the accolade only on musical merit and not airplay.

In charge of the RTE Choice award, this year once again is, Tony Clayton-Lea. Here’s the list of artists:

The Academic – Tales From The Backseat (ROOM6 Records)
Delorentos – True Surrender (Delo Records)
Just Mustard – Wednesday (Pizza Pizza Records)
Kojaque – Deli Daydreams (Soft Boy Records)
O Emperor – Jason (Big Skin Records)
Lisa O’Neill – Heard A Long Gone Song (River Lea Recordings)
Saint Sister – Shape Of Silence (self-released)
Rejjie Snow – Dear Annie (BMG)
Villagers – The Art Of Pretending To Swim (Domino Recording Co)
Wyvern Lingo – Wyvern Lingo (Ruby Works)

Here’s the list of this year’s judges:

Louise Cantillion -Classic Hits
Zara Hedderman -Thin Air / Head Stuff / Freelance
Conor McCaffrey -Daily Star / mookidmusic.com
Mike McGrath-Brian – Freelance / nialler9.com (Cork)
Danny McIlheny – Irish Daily Mail
Cathy Moorehead – Across The Line/NI
Ed Smith – Today FM
Tara Stewart – 2FM
Dean Van Nguyen – Freelance/Irish Times
Stephen White – thelastmixedtape.com

The award as well as a live show from the artists on the shortlist, will be presented at a live event in Vicar Street on the 7th of March. Tickets cost €28 or more are on sale now for the event from Ticketmaster.

Don’t forget you can keep up-to-date on all things Nova over on our Instagram page – follow us for all the craziness of radio life coupled with news, sports and LOTS of cool competitions! Click here…