Snow Patrol’s Nathan Connolly Releases New Solo Single


The solo career of Snow Patrol’s Nathan Connolly is taking shape, after he released his debut single ‘Fires’.

The track which you can check out below, will feature on the guitarist’s upcoming album ‘The Strange Order Of Things’, which arrives on April 21.

‘Fires’ also features a contribution from Biffy Clyro lead singer Simon Neil.

Nathan Connolly’s band Snow Patrol were also quick to congratulate the guitarist on this project via Twitter.

“Nathan has been working on his solo album for years now. It’s called The Strange Order Of Things and it’s a triumph. The debut single, Fires, is out now and it features our good friend Simon Neil from Biffy Clyro. Congrats, Nathan! SP x”, the band wrote.

“trying to understand, make sense, and work through”

According to Connolly, the album is a way of “trying to understand, make sense and work through events that have led to who I am now: heartache, regret, emotional cost, fatherhood”. 

Connolly had intially began working on this album alongside producer Rocky O’Reilly in 2017.

After a Covid lockdown put pay to Snow Patrol’s touring plans, the album was completed in early 2021, with Connolly also saying at the time that “although the album is not about home, I felt compelled to make it there”. 

Along with Simon Neil on vocals, ‘Fires’ also sees Nathan Connolly collaborate with Ailbhe Reddy, as well as long time collaborators Herb and Dave Magee, along with Gavin Fox and Stephen Leacock.

Check out Connolly’s news single ‘Fires’ below.

Speaking of Biffy Clyro, the band released a new documentary about the making of their ninth studio albumThe Myth Of The Happily Ever After last year.

The documentary, Biffy Clyro: Cultural Sons Of Scotland, was released to viewing via Amazon Prime Video and Amazon Music Unlimited on February 25.

There is more on this from Nova here.