The Eagles Receive Kennedy Center Honours


The recipients for the 2015 Kennedy Centre Honours have been announced, with The Eagles being one of the distinguished inductees. They will be part of the 38th Annual Centre Honours, which will take place later this year.

The event as always will take place in the prestigious John F. Kennedy Centre for The Performing Arts in Washington, DC this December. Other recipients include singer-songwriter Carole King, Star Wars creator George Lucas, actress/singer Rita Moreno, conductor Seiji Ozawa and Broadway star Cicely Tyson.

The recipients are recognized for their lifetime contributions to American culture. This involves a range of disciplines such as music,dance,theatre,opera, motion pictures and television, all of which are under the banner of performing arts.

The Eagles spoke recently about receiving the honour, saying “We are deeply grateful to have been named a Kennedy Centre honouree”, adding that “We all hail from different parts of this county and we feel very fortunate that our music has been embraced by people from all walks of life”.

The Eagles will join some illustrious musical company who have already received the honour. Legendary hard rock band Led Zeppelin, were honoured back in 2012, Paul McCartney was honoured in 2010 and The Who’s Pete Townshend and Roger Daltry received the honour back in 2008.

Photo Credit: Penn State